The ITIL Practitioner Certification - Launched in Q1 2016 by AXELOS

We are the first Accredited Training Organisation in India and our Trainer (Vijay) is the first Trainer for Asia Pac and Middle East

Image description

The Practitioner qualification has been developed for ITSM professionals who have an understanding of the ITIL framework but who need advice on how to adopt and adapt it within their day-to-day work practices. By utilizing core skills such as metrics and measurement, communication, and organizational change management, by adhering to the guiding principles of ITSM, and by following the CSI approach, we believe that practitioners will have everything they need to take on the challenges of their profession.

ITIL Practitioner Certification

The ITIL® Practitioner certification offers practical guidance on how to adopt and adapt the ITIL framework to support your business' objectives.

It is the next step after ITIL Foundation for professionals who have already learned the basics of IT Service Management (ITSM) and the business value of well-designed and delivered services. Where ITIL Foundation focuses on the 'what' and the 'why', ITIL Practitioner shows 'how' to start adopting and adapting the ITIL framework within day-to-day situations and responsibilities, giving individuals more confidence in their ability to structure and contribute to ITSM initiatives. ITIL Practitioner does not replace any of the existing ITIL qualifications and moreover one will receive 3 credit points towards ITIL Expert.

Key points about ITIL Practitioner

ITIL Practitioner covers the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) approach as the way to structure any improvement initiatives. ITIL Practitioner also covers three key areas crucial for success of any improvement initiatives:

  • Organizational Change Management
  • Communication
  • Measurement and Metrics.

The ITIL Practitioner guidance follows 9 Guiding Principles:

  • Focus on value
  • Design for experience
  • Start where you are
  • Work holistically
  • Progress iteratively
  • Observe directly
  • Be transparent
  • Collaborate
  • Keep it simple

About the ITIL Practitioner Qualification

ITIL Practitioner is complementary to and fits in with the current ITIL qualification scheme. To take the ITIL Practitioner exam, individuals must hold an existing ITIL Foundation certificate.

  • ITIL Practitioner is not a prerequisite for the ITIL Intermediate Level qualifications.
  • ITIL Practitioner is worth three credits towards the ITIL Expert qualification.
  • ITIL Practitioner is also worth 15 points towards your ITIL digital badge as part of the AXELOS Professional Development Programme.
  • The examination is open book and made up of multiple choice questions based on a scenario.

Pre-requisite qualifications: Delegates wishing to take this examination must have previously passed the ITIL Foundation Examination.

Training: Though formal training is not mandatory, attendance at an accredited ITIL Practitioner course is strongly recommended.

Material permitted: The examination is ‘open book’, i.e. the ITIL Practitioner Guidance publication is allowed for reference during the examination.

Examination duration: 1 hour and 45 minutes

Format: The examination is scenario - based i.e. the questions relate to a case study. This case study (referred to as the ‘Scenario’) is the same for all sample and official exams. The Scenario is included in the Scenario Booklet (see also the sample papers available on along with 6 sets of additional information necessary to answer each section of questions. There are 6 sets of multiple choice questions (MCQs) in the Question Booklet, and each set tests particular learning outcomes from the candidate’s course of study. There are 40 questions in total and each question is worth 1 mark.

Pass mark: Candidates are expected to achieve a score of 70% (28 marks) or higher in order to pass the examination and be awarded certification.