ITIL® 2011 Foundation Certification

Image description

The Foundation level is the entry level qualification which offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL® service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices. After passing the ITIL Foundation training and examination, you can expect to gain a general overview and basic understanding of ITIL.

The Concept

If you want to progress to the next level within the ITIL qualifications scheme, the ITIL Intermediate level or the ITIL Practitioner credential, you need to have first passed the ITIL Foundation qualification. This qualification is primarily aimed at:

  • Those who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework
  • Those who need understanding of how ITIL can be used to enhance IT service management within an organization
  • IT professionals or others working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL and who need to be informed about, or contribute to, ongoing service improvement.

However, the ITIL Foundation level qualification is open to and can benefit anyone who has an interest in the subject. Holders of an ITIL Foundation level qualification are likely to require further guidance before being able to apply the ITIL practices for Service Management to professional projects or situations.

Examination Format

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • 40 questions
  • 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%
  • 60 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book.


The  purpose  of  the  ITIL  Foundation  certificate  in  IT  Service  Management  is  to  certify  that  the  candidate has  gained  knowledge  of  the  ITIL terminology,  structure  and  basic  concepts  and  has  comprehended the core  principles  of  ITIL  practices  for  service  management. The  ITIL Foundation  certificate  in  IT  Service  Management  is not intended  to  enable  the  holders  of  the certificate  to apply the ITIL  practices for  service management  without  further  guidance.

Learning Objectives

Candidates can expect to gain knowledge and understanding in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification.

  1. Service management as a practice (comprehension)
  2. The ITIL service lifecycle (comprehension)
  3. Generic concepts and definitions (awareness)
  4. Key principles and models (comprehension)
  5. Selected processes (awareness)
  6. Selected functions (awareness)
  7. Selected roles (awareness)
  8. Technology and architecture (awareness)
  9. Competence and training (awareness)