AWS® Certified Solutions Architect - Developer

The AWS Certified Developer – Associate exam validates technical expertise in developing and maintaining applications on the AWS platform

Image description


The AWS Certified Developer – Associate Level exam is intended for individuals who perform a Developer role. This exam validates an examinee’s ability to:

  • Design, develop and deploy cloud based solutions using AWS
  • Understand the core AWS services, uses, and basic architecture best practices
  • Develop and maintain applications written for Amazon Simple Storage Services (S3), Amazon
  • Dy Queue Service (SQS), Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), Amazon
  • Simple Workflow Service (SWS), AWS Elastic Beanstalk, and AWS CloudFormation

AWS Knowledge

  1. Professional experience using AWS technology
  2. Hands-on experience programming with AWS APIs
  3. Understanding of AWS Security best practices
  4. Understanding of automation and AWS deployment tools
  5. Understanding storage options and their underlying consistency models
  6. Excellent understanding of at least one AWS SDK

General IT Knowledge

  1. Understanding of stateless and loosely coupled distributed applications
  2. Familiarity developing with RESTful API interfaces
  3. Basic understanding of relational and non-relational databases
  4. Familiarity with messaging & queuing services
  5. These training courses or other equivalent methodologies will assist in exam preparation:
  6. Developing on AWS (
  7. In-depth knowledge or training in at least one high-level programming language
  8. AWS Cloud Computing Whitepapers (
  9. AWS Documentation (

Response Limits

The examinee selects from four (4) or more response options the option(s) that best completes the statement or answers the question. Distracters or wrong answers are response options that examinees with incomplete knowledge or skill would likely choose, but are generally plausible responses fitting into the content area defined by the test objective.

Test item formats used in this examination are:

  1. Multiple-choice: examinee selects one option that best answers the question or completes a statement. The option can be embedded in a graphic where the examinee “points and clicks” on their selection choice to complete the test item.
  2. Multiple-response: examinee selects more than one option that best answers the question or completes a statement.
  3. Sample Directions: Read the statement or question and from the response options, select only the option(s) that represent the most correct or best answer(s) given the information.

Exam Content (Syllabus)

Domain 1.0: AWS Fundamentals
1.1 Identify and recognize cloud architecture considerations, such as fundamental components and effective designs.

  1. How to design cloud services
  2. Database concepts
  3. Planning and design
  4. Familiarity with architectural trade-off decisions (high availability vs. cost, Amazon Relational
  5. Database Service (RDS) vs. installing your own database on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2))
  6. Amazon S3, Amazon Simple Workflow Service (SWS), and Messaging
  7. DynamoDB, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, AWS CloudFormation
  8. Elasticity and scalability

Domain 2.0: Designing and Developing

2.1 Identify the appropriate techniques to code a cloud solution.

  1. Configure an Amazon Machine Image (AMI)
  2. Programming with AWS APIs

Domain 3.0: Data Security

3.1 Recognize and implement secure practices for optimum cloud deployment and maintenance.

  1. AWS shared responsibility model
  2. AWS platform compliance
  3. AWS security attributes (customer workloads down to physical layer)
  4. AWS administration and security services
  5. AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM)
  6. Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)
  7. AWS CloudTrail
  8. Ingress vs. egress filtering, and which AWS services and features fit
  9. “Core” Amazon EC2 and S3 security feature sets
  10. Incorporating common conventional security products (Firewall, VPN)
  11. Design patterns
  12. DoS mitigation
  13. Encryption solutions (e.g., key services)
  14. Complex access controls (building sophisticated security groups, ACLs, etc.)
  15. Amazon CloudWatch for the security architect
  16. Trusted Advisor
  17. CloudWatch Logs

3.2 Recognize critical disaster recovery techniques and their implementation

• Disaster recovery
    o Recovery time objective
    o Recovery point objective
    o Amazon Elastic Block Store
• AWS Import/Export
• AWS Storage Gateway
• Amazon Route53
• Validation of data recovery method

Domain 4.0: Troubleshooting

• General troubleshooting information and questions